Conservation Commission

Our Role

The Conservation Commission is responsible for implementing local, state, and federal wetland laws, managing conservation land, and engaging the public in conservation efforts.

The Conservation Commission, in conjunction with the Conservation Office, is responsible for reviewing all proposed and ongoing municipal, private, commercial, and industrial projects to determine if they are in compliance with local, state, and federal wetland laws. Over 50% of land in Framingham is located within the Conservation Commission’s jurisdiction under the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act (CMR 10) and/or the Framingham Wetlands Protection Bylaw (Section 18) and its implementing Regulations. The Conservation Commission conducts site inspections and attends pertinent meetings. The Commission assumes responsibility for the management of over 400 acres of Conservation land owned by the town including Macomber, Arthur‑Morency Woods, Carol Getchell Trail, Wittenborg Woods, and Cochituate Brook Reservation, as well as numerous other properties and oversees a seasonal staff often. Seasonal staff complete invasive species management, trail maintenance, and clearing, and restoration projects.

Membership Responsibilities

Commissioners serve a three-year term and are required to attend bi-monthly Conservation Commission meetings. They are required to familiarize themselves with the state and local laws and regulations which they are tasked to administer. Commissioners must use sound critical thinking and judgment to render decisions that influence the environmental landscape of Framingham.

Member Skillset

The Commission is extremely fortunate to have volunteer members with a diverse and valuable skill set. Members’ professional affiliations include storm-water engineering, botany, invasive species management, environmental law, geotechnical engineering, and chemical engineering.

Meeting Information

Meeting dates/occurrence: the first and third Wednesday of each month. Land Management Meetings on months with fifth Wednesdays. Additional Special Meetings by Request. For more information, please contact the Conservation Commission at 508-532-5460.

Members of the Conservation Commission

Term Expiration
Sampath Bade Chair June 2026 District 6
Gene Novak Member June 2026 District 2
Vacant Member June 2025  
David Anderson Member June 2025 District 2
David Sapuppo Member June 2026 District 3
Kevin Walsh Member June 2025 District 5
Steven Weisman Member June 2024 District 2