Memorial Arts Scholarship



The Framingham Cultural Council (FCC) will award one or more scholarships to a senior at a Framingham high school or grade 12 equivalent who has demonstrated talent in the arts. The student must be a resident of Framingham and in good standing at their high school.

The scholarship must be used by the recipient to enable that person to pursue an interest in their specific cultural arts program. The recipient is expected to use the funds within 12 months of the award.

Applicants should submit a completed application form, along with a letter of request by email to by March 1 each year.  The letter should describe the student’s accomplishments in the arts during the past year. Examples of arts activities include but are not limited to singing, dancing, acting, painting, sculpting, creating photographs or videos, writing poetry or short stories, composing music, and playing an instrument.  A sample of the student’s work should be attached to the application, if possible, in one of the following file types: doc, pdf, jpg, mp4, or avi.

In addition to the letter of request, the application should include a letter of recommendation from a person familiar with their work.

Applications for the scholarship will be evaluated by the Framingham Cultural Council. Criteria for selection may include originality, creativity, uniqueness, skill, or human interest.


The scholarship is in memory of Rita and Bill Collins.  Rita Collins was the cultural council administrator and when she retired, she became a member and the treasurer. She managed the grant processing and reimbursement procedures. Bill Collins was a former member of the Cultural Council. He designed the logo used by the FCC on its letterhead and other publications.  As a volunteer in Framingham, Bill designed a variety of logos, posters, and other materials for individuals, and for government, cultural and civic groups. He belonged to the Framingham Artists Guild.

Art Scholarship Application:

Art Scholarship Recipients 2012-2021:

Art Scholarship Recipients 2022 and beyond:  Please see the Award Reception page.