Regulation of the Framingham Board of Health
Restricting the Sale of Tobacco Products and Smoke Accessories

A. Statement of Purpose:

Whereas there exists conclusive evidence that tobacco smoking causes cancer, respiratory and cardiac diseases,
negative birth outcomes, irritations to the eyes, nose and throat';

Whereas the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has concluded that nicotine is as addictive as cocaine
ot heroin® and the Surgeon General found that nicotine exposure during adolescence, a critical window for brain
development, may have lasting adverse consequences for brain development,’ and that it is addiction to nicotine
that keeps youth smoking past adolescence.*

Whereas a Federal District Court found that Phillip Morris, R] Reynolds and other leading cigarette manufacturers
“spent billions of dollars every year on their marketing activities in order to encourage young people to try and then
continue purchasing their cigarette products in order to provide the replacement smokers they need to survive” and
that these companies were likely to continue targeting underage smokers’;

Whereas more than 80 percent of all adult smokers begin smoking before the age of 18, more than 90 percent do so
before leaving their teens, and more than 3.5 million middle and high school students smoke;’

Whereas 18.1 percent of current smokers aged <18 years reported that they usually directly purchased their cigarettes
from stores (i.e. convenience store, supermarket, or discount store) or gas stations, and among 11" grade males this
rate was neatly 30 percent ;’

Whereas the Institute of Medicine (IOM) concludes that raising the minimum age of legal access to tobacco
products to 21 will likely reduce tobacco initiation, particularly among adolescents 15 — 17, which would improve
health across the lifespan and save lives®.
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Whereas cigars and cigarillos, can be sold in a single “dose;” enjoy a relatively low tax as compared to cigarettes; are
available in fruit, candy and alcohol flavors; and are popular among youth’;

Whereas research shows that increased cigar prices significantly decreased the probability of male adolescent cigar
use and a 10% increase in cigar prices would reduce use by 3.4%'";

Whereas 59% of high school smokers in Massachusetts have tried flavored cigarettes or flavored cigars and 25.6%
of them are current flavored tobacco product users; 95.1 % of 12 — 17-year olds who smoked cigars reported
smoking cigar brands that were flavored;"

Whereas the Surgeon General found that exposure to tobacco marketing in stores and price discounting increase
youth smoking;12

Whereas the federal Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act (FSPTCA), enacted in 2009, prohibited
candy- and fruit-flavored cigarettes,” largely because these flavored products were marketed to youth and young
adults," and younger smokers were more likely to have tried these products than older smokers®, neither federal
nor Massachusetts laws restrict sales of flavored non-cigarette tobacco products, such as cigars, cigarillos, smokeless
tobacco, hookah tobacco, and electronic devices and the nicotine solutions used in these devices;

Whereas the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the U.S. Surgeon General have stated that flavored tobacco
products are considered to be “starter” products that help establish smoking habits that can lead to long-term
addiction;'
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Whereas the U.S. Surgeon General recognized in his 2014 report that a complementary strategy to assist in
eradicating tobacco related death and disease is for local governments to ban categories of products from retail

sale;!”

Whereas the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has reported that the considerable increase in e-
cigarette use among U.S. youths, coupled with no change in use of other tobacco products during 2017 — 2018, has
erased recent progress in reducing overall tobacco product use among youths;'®

Whereas 20% of Massachusetts high school youth currently use e-cigarettes and 41% have tried them;"

Whereas among MetroWest high school youths who currently use e-cigarettes, 25% also smoke conventional
cigarettes, 76% also drink alcohol, and 65% also use marijuana, compared to 2%, 24%, and 11%, respectively,
among high school youth who do not use e-cigarettes;”

Whereas the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection has classified liquid nicotine in any amount as

an “acutely hazardous waste”;?!

Whereas in a lab analysis conducted by the FDA, electronic cigarette cartridges that were labeled as containing no
nicotine actually had low levels of nicotine present in all cartridges tested, except for one™;

Whereas according to the CDC’s youth risk behavior surveillance system, the percentage of high school students in
Massachusetts who reported the use of cigars within the past 30 days is 10.8% in 2013;>

Whereas data from the National Youth Tobacco Survey indicate that more than two-fifths of U.S. middle and high
school smokers report using flavored little cigars or flavored cigarettes;™

Whereas the sale of tobacco products is incompatible with the mission of health care institutions because these
products are detrimental to the public health and their presence in health care institutions undermine efforts to

educate patients on the safe and effective use of medication, including cessation medication;
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Whereas educational institutions sell tobacco products to a younger population, who is particularly at risk for
becoming smokers and such sale of tobacco products is incompatible with the mission of educational institutions
that educate a younger population about social, environmental and health risks and harms;

Whereas the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court has held that “. .. [t]he right to engage in business must yield to

the paramount right of government to protect the public health by any rational means”?.

Now, therefore it is the intention of the Framingham Board of Health to regulate the sale of tobacco products.

B. Authority:

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted to the Framingham Board of Health by
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 111, Section 31 which states "Boatds of health may make reasonable health
regulations". Reference is also made to M.G.L. c. 64, §§ 1, 10; M.G.L. c. 94G and the regulations of the Cannabis
Control Commission promulgated as 935 CMR 500.00; M.G.L. c. 94, § 307C and the Attorney General’s regulations
promulgated as 940 CMR 21.00-21.07, 22.00-22.07; M.G.L. c. 112 and the regulations of the Department of Public
Health as 247 CMR 6.00; and M.G.L. c. 270, {§ 6-7; 22; 27.

C. Incorporation of Attorney General Regulation 940 CMR 21.00:

The sale or distribution of Tobacco Products, as defined herein, must comply with those provisions found at 940
CMR 21.00 (“Sale and Distribution of Cigarettes, Smokeless Tobacco Products, and Electronic Smoking Devices in
Massachusetts”).

D. Definitions:

For the purpose of this regulation, the following words shall have the following meanings:

Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Store: An establishment that is not required to possess a retail food permit whose

primary purpose is to sell or offer for sale but not for resale, Tobacco Products and tobacco paraphernalia, in which
the sale of other products or offer of services is merely incidental, and in which the entry of persons under the
Minimum Legal Sales Age is prohibited at all times, and which maintains a valid Tobacco Product Sales Permit for
the retail sale of Tobacco Products as required by the Framingham Board of Health.

Blunt Wrap: Any Tobacco Product manufactured or packaged as a wrap or as a hollow tube made wholly or in part
from tobacco that is designed or intended to be filled by the consumer with loose tobacco or other fillers regardless
of any content.

Business Agent: An individual who has been designated by the owner or operator of any establishment to be the
manager or otherwise in charge of said establishment.

25 Druzik et al v. Board of Health of Haverhill, 324 Mass.129 (1949).
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Characterizing Flavor: A distinguishable taste or aroma, other than the taste or aroma of tobacco, imparted or
detectable either prior to or during consumption of a Tobacco Product or component part thereof, including, but
not limited to, tastes or aromas relating to any fruit, chocolate, vanilla, honey, candy, cocoa, dessert, menthol, mint,
wintergreen, alcoholic beverage, herb or spice; provided, however, that no Tobacco Product shall be determined to
have a characterizing flavor solely because of the provision of ingredient information or the use of additives or
flavorings that do not contribute to the distinguishable taste or aroma of the product.

Cigar: Any roll of tobacco that is wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing tobacco with or without a
tip or mouthpiece not otherwise defined as a cigarette under Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 64C, Section 1,

Paragraph 1.

Component Part: Any element of a Tobacco Product, including, but not limited to, the tobacco, filter and paper,

but not including any constituent.

Constituent: Any ingredient, substance, chemical or compound, other than tobacco, water or reconstituted tobacco
sheet, that is added by the manufacturer to a Tobacco Product during the processing, manufacturing or packaging
of the Tobacco Product. Such term shall include a smoke constituent.

Coupon: Any card, paper, note, form, statement, ticket or other issue distributed for commercial or promotional
purposes to be later surrendered by the bearer so as to receive an article, service or accommodation without charge

or at a discount price.

Distinguishable: Perceivable by either the sense of smell or taste.

Educational Institution: Any public or private college, school, professional school, scientific or technical institution,
university or other institution furnishing a program of higher education.

Employee: Any individual who performs services for an employer.

Employer: Any individual, partnership, association, corporation, trust or other organized group of individuals that
uses the services of one (1) or more employees.

Flavored Tobacco Product: Any Tobacco Product or Component Part thereof that contains a Constituent that has

or produces a Characterizing Flavor. A public statement, claim or indicia made or disseminated by the
manufacturer of a Tobacco Product, or by any person authorized or permitted by the manufacturer to make or
disseminate public statements concerning such Tobacco Product, that such Tobacco Product has or produces a
Characterizing Flavor shall constitute presumptive evidence that the Tobacco Product is a Flavored Tobacco
Product.

Health Care Institution: An individual, partnership, association, corporation or trust or any person or group of

persons that provides health care services and employs health care providers licensed, or subject to licensing, by the
Massachusetts Department of Public Health under M.G.L. c. 112 or a retail establishment that provides
pharmaceutical goods and services and is subject to the provisions of 247 CMR 6.00. Health care institutions



include, but are not limited to, hospitals, clinics, health centers, pharmacies, drug stores, doctor offices,
optician/optometrist offices and dentist offices.

Liquid Nicotine Container: A bottle or other vessel which contains nicotine in liquid or gel form, whether or not
combined with another substance or substances, for use in a Tobacco Product, as defined herein. The term does
not include a container containing nicotine in a cartridge that is sold, marketed, or intended for use in a Tobacco
Product, as defined herein, if the cartridge is prefilled and sealed by the manufacturer and not intended to be
opened by the consumer or retailer.

Listed or Non-discounted Price: The higher of the price listed for a Tobacco Product on its package or the price

listed on any related shelving, posting, advertising or display at the place where the Tobacco Product is sold or
offered for sale plus all applicable taxes if such taxes are not included in the state price, and before the application
of any discounts or coupons.

Marijuana Accessories: Equipment, products, devices, or materials of any kind that are intended or designed for use

in ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing marijuana into the human body.

Marijuana Retailer: “Marijuana Retailer” as defined in 935 CMR 500.002.

Minimum Legal Sales Age (MLSA): The age an individual must be before that individual can be sold a Tobacco

Product or a Smoke Accessory in the municipality.

Non-residential Roll-Your-Own (RYO) Machine: A mechanical device made available for use (including to an

individual who produces cigars, cigarettes, smokeless tobacco, pipe tobacco, or roll-your-own tobacco solely for the
individual's own personal consumption or use) that is capable of making cigarettes, cigars or other Tobacco
Products. RYO machines located in private homes used for solely personal consumption are not Non-Residential
RYO machines.

Permit Holder: Any person engaged in the sale or distribution of Tobacco Products or Smoke Accessories who
applies for and receives a Tobacco Product Sales Permit or a Smoke Accessory Sales Permit, or any person who is
required to apply for a Tobacco Product Sales Permit or a Smoke Accessory Sales Permit pursuant to these
regulations, or his or her business agent.

Person: Any individual, firm, partnership, association, corporation, company or organization of any kind, including
but not limited to, an owner, operator, manager, proprietor or person in charge of any establishment, business or
retail store.

Registered Marijuana Dispensary: “Medical Marijuana Treatment Center, also known as a Registered Marijuana
Dispensary” as defined in 935 CMR 500.002.

Self-service Display: Any display from which customers may select a Tobacco Product, as defined herein, without

assistance from a store employee or from store personnel.



Schools: Public or private elementary or secondary schools.

Smoke Accessories: Equipment, products, devices, or materials of any kind that are intended or designed for use in

ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing Tobacco Product, marijuana, tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), or
cannabidiol (CBD) into the human body, including, but not limited to, Marijuana Accessories, bongs, pipes, glass
pipes, vaporizers, vape pens, hookah apparatus, dab rigs, pods, tanks, and cartridges.

Smoke Accessory Sales Permit: A permit issued by the Framingham Board of Health for selling or otherwise

distributing Smoke Accessories in the City of Framingham.

Smoke Constituent: Any chemical or chemical compound in mainstream or sidestream tobacco smoke that either
transfers from any component of the Tobacco Product to the smoke or that is formed by the combustion or
heating of tobacco, additives or other component of the Tobacco Product.

Smoking Bar: An establishment that primarily is engaged in the retail sale of Tobacco Products for consumption by
customers on the premises and is required by Mass. General Law Ch. 270, §22 to maintain a valid permit to operate
a smoking bar issued by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue. “Smoking Bar” shall include, but not be
limited to, those establishments that are commonly known as “cigar bars” and “hookah bars”.

Tobacco Product: Any product containing, made, or derived from tobacco or nicotine that is intended for human

consumption, whether smoked, chewed, absorbed, dissolved, inhaled, snorted, sniffed, or ingested by any other
means, including, but not limited to: cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, snuff; or
electronic cigarettes, electronic cigars, electronic pipes, electronic hookah, liquid nicotine, “e-liquids” or other
similar products, regardless of nicotine content, that rely on vaporization or aerosolization. Tobacco Product
includes any component or part of a Tobacco Product. Tobacco Product does not include any product that has
been approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration either as a tobacco use cessation product or for
other medical purposes and which is being marketed and sold or prescribed solely for the approved purpose.

Tobacco Product Sales Permit: A permit issued by the Framingham Board of Health for selling or otherwise

distributing Tobacco Products in the City of Framingham.

Vending Machine: Any automated or mechanical self-service device, which upon insertion of money, tokens or any
other form of payment, dispenses or makes cigarettes or any other Tobacco Products, as defined herein.

E. Applicability:
1. A holder of a valid Tobacco Product Sales Permit, as defined herein, that also possess a retail food permit

may sell Tobacco Products without Characterizing Flavor but may not sell Smoke Accessories or Flavored
Tobacco Products.

2. A holder of a valid Smoke Accessory Sales Permit, as defined herein, may sell only Smoke Accessories.



3. Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Stores, as defined herein, may sell Tobacco Products, Flavored Tobacco
Products, and Smoke Accessories.

4. Marijuana Retailers and Registered Marijuana Dispensaries, as defined herein, may sell Smoke Accessories,

but may not sell Tobacco Products or Flavored Tobacco Products.

F. Tobacco Sales to Persons Under the Minimum Legal Sales Age Prohibited:

1. No person shall sell Tobacco Products or Smoke Accessories, or permit Tobacco Products or Smoke

Accessories, as defined herein, to be sold to a person under the Minimum Legal Sales Age; or give Tobacco

Products, as defined herein, to a person under the Minimum Legal Sales Age. The Minimum Legal Sales

Age in Framingham is twenty-one (21).

2. Required Signage:

a.

In conformance with and in addition to Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 270, Section 7, a copy of
Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 270, Section 6, shall be posted conspicuously by the owner or
other person in charge thereof in the shop or other place used to sell Tobacco Products at retail. The
notice shall be provided by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health and made available from the
Framingham Board of Health. The notice shall be at least 48 square inches and shall be posted
conspicuously by the permit holder in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so that it
may be readily seen by a person standing at or approaching the cash register. The notice shall directly
face the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4 feet or
greater than 9 feet from the floor. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to
sell Tobacco Products at retail shall conspicuously post any additional signs required by the
Massachusetts Department of Public Health. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other
place used to sell hand rolled cigars must display a warning about cigar consumption in a sign at least 50
square inches pursuant to 940 CMR 22.05 (2)(e).

The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell Tobacco Products or Smoke
Accessories, as defined herein, at retail shall conspicuously post signage provided by the Framingham
Board of Health that discloses current referral information about smoking cessation.

The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell Tobacco Products that rely on
vaporization or aerosolization, as defined herein as “Tobacco Products”, at retail shall conspicuously
post a sign stating that “The sale of tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, to someone under the
minimum legal sales age of 21 years is prohibited.” The notice shall be no smaller than 8.5 inches by 11
inches and shall be posted conspicuously in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so
that it may be readily seen by a person standing at or approaching the cash register. The notice shall
directly face the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than four
(4) feet or greater than nine (9) feet from the floor.



3. Identification: Each person selling or distributing Tobacco Products or Smoke Accessories, as defined
herein, shall verify the age of the purchaser by means of a valid government-issued photographic
identification containing the bearer's date of birth that the purchaser is 21 years old or older. Verification is
required for any person under the age of 27.

4. All retail sales of Tobacco Products or Smoke Accessories, as defined herein, must be face-to-face between
the seller and the buyer and occur at the permitted location.

G. Tobacco Product Sales Permit:

1. No person shall sell or otherwise distribute Tobacco Products, as defined herein, within the City of
Framingham without first obtaining a Tobacco Product Sales Permit issued annually by the Framingham
Board of Health. Only owners of establishments with a permanent, non-mobile location in Framingham are
eligible to apply for a permit and sell Tobacco Products, as defined herein, at the specified location in
Framingham.

2. As part of the Tobacco Product Sales Permit application process, the applicant will be provided with the
Regulation of the Framingham Board of Health Restricting the Sale of Tobacco Products and Smoke
Accessories (this regulation). Each applicant is required to sign a statement declaring that the applicant has
read said regulation and that the applicant is responsible for instructing any and all employees who will be
responsible for Tobacco Product sales regarding federal, state and local laws regarding the sale of tobacco
and this regulation.

3. Each applicant who sells Tobacco Products is required to provide proof of a current Tobacco Retailer
License issued by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue, when required by state law, before a Tobacco
Product Sales Permit can be issued. Applicant may be asked to provide evidence that a legitimate business
transfer or business purchase has taken place.

4. A separate permit, displayed conspicuously, is required for each retail establishment selling Tobacco
Products, as defined herein. The fee for which shall be determined by the Framingham Board of Health
annually.

5. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit is non-transferable. A new owner of an establishment that sells Tobacco
Products, as defined herein, must apply for a new permit. No new permit will be issued unless and until all
outstanding penalties incurred by the previous permit holder are satisfied in full.

6. Issuance of a Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall be conditioned on an applicant’s consent to unannounced,
petiodic inspections of his/her retail establishment to ensure compliance with this regulation.

7. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has failed to pay all fines issued
and the time period to appeal the fines has expired and/or the permit holder has not satisfied any
outstanding permit suspensions.



8. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has sold a Tobacco Product to a

person under the MLSA (§F.1) three times within the previous twelve-months and the time period to appeal

has expired. The violator may request a hearing in accordance with subsection 4 of the Violations section.

9. Maximum Number of Tobacco Product Sales Permits.

a.

At any given time, there shall be no more than twenty-six (26) Tobacco Product Sales Permits issued to
retailers that are not Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Stores, as defined herein, in Framingham. No permit
renewal will be denied based on the requirements of this subsection except any Permit Holder who has
failed to renew his or her permit within thirty (30) days of expiration will be treated as a first-time permit
applicant. New applicants for permits who are applying at a time when the maximum number of
permits have been issued will be placed on a waiting list and will be eligible to apply for a permit on a
“first-come, first-served” basis as issued permits are either not renewed, revoked, or are returned to the
Board of Health.

At any given time, there shall be no more than four (4) Tobacco Products Sales Permits issued to Adult-
Only Retail Tobacco Stores, as defined herein, in Framingham. No permit renewal by an Adult-Only
Retail Tobacco Store will be denied based on the requirements of this subsection except any Permit
Holder who has failed to renew his or her permit within thirty (30) days of expiration will be treated as a
first-time permit applicant. New Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Store Permit applicants who are applying
at a time when the maximum number of permits dedicated for Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Store have
been issued will be placed on a waiting list and will be eligible to apply for a permit on a “first-come,
first-served” basis as issued permits dedicated for Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Stores are either not
renewed, revoked, or are returned to the Board of Health. Applicants who purchase or acquire an
existing Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Store that holds a valid Tobacco Product Sales Permit at the time of
the sale or acquisition of said business must apply within sixty (60) days of such sale or acquisition for
the permit held by the current Permit Holder if the applicant intends to operate as an Adult-Only Retail
Tobacco Store, as defined herein.

A Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall not be issued to any new applicant for a retail location within five
hundred (500) feet of a public or private elementary or secondary school as measured by a straight line
from the nearest point of the property line of the school to the nearest point of the property line of the
site of the applicant’s business premises.

A Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall not be issued to any new applicant for a retail location within five
hundred (500) feet of a retailer with a valid Tobacco Product Sales Permit as measured by a straight line
from the nearest point of the property line of the retailer with a valid Tobacco Product Sales Permit to
the nearest point of the property line of the site of the applicant's business premises.

Applicants who purchase or acquire an existing business that holds a valid Tobacco Product Sales
Permit at the time of the sale or acquisition of said business must apply within sixty (60) days of such
sale or acquisition for the permit held by the current Permit Holder if the applicant intends to sell
Tobacco Products, as defined herein.
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H. Cigar Sales Regulated:

3.

4.

No person shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or distributed a single cigar unless such cigar is priced
for retail sale at two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) or more.

No person shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or distributed any original factory-wrapped package of
two or more cigars, unless such package is priced for retail sale at five dollars ($5.00) or more.

This Section shall not apply to a person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for
commercial purposes to another person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for
commercial purposes with the intent to sell or distribute outside the boundaries of Framingham.

The Framingham Board of Health may adjust from time to time the amounts specified in this Section to

reflect changes in the applicable Consumer Price Index by amendment of this regulation.

I. Smoke Accessory Sales Permit:

No person shall sell or otherwise distribute Smoke Accessories, as defined herein, within the City of
Framingham without first obtaining a Smoke Accessory Sales Permit issued annually by the Framingham
Board of Health, except in Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Stores, Marijuana Retailers, or Registered Marijuana
Dispensaries, as defined herein. Only owners of establishments with a permanent, non-mobile location in
Framingham are eligible to apply for a permit and sell Smoke Accessories, as defined herein, at the specified
location in Framingham.

As part of the Smoke Accessory Sales Permit application process, the applicant will be provided with the
Regulation of the Framingham Board of Health Restricting the Sale of Tobacco Products and Smoke
Accessories (this regulation). Each applicant is required to sign a statement declaring that the applicant has
read said regulation and that the applicant is responsible for instructing any and all employees who will be
responsible for Smoke Accessory sales regarding federal, state, and local laws regarding the sale of such
products and this regulation.

A separate permit, displayed conspicuously, is required for each retail establishment selling Smoke
Accessories, as defined herein. The fee for which shall be determined by the Framingham Board of Health
annually.

A Smoke Accessory Sales Permit is non-transferable. A new owner of an establishment that sells Smoke
Accessories, as defined herein, must apply for a new permit. No new permit will be issued unless and until

all outstanding penalties incurred by the previous permit holder are satisfied in full.

Issuance of a Smoke Accessory Sales Permit shall be conditioned on an applicant’s consent to
unannounced, periodic inspections of his/her retail establishment to ensure compliance with this regulation.
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0.

8.

A Smoke Accessory Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has failed to pay all fines issued
and the time period to appeal the fines has expired and/or the permit holder has not satisfied any

outstanding permit suspensions.

A Smoke Accessory Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has sold a Smoke Accessory to a
person under the MLSA (§F.1) three times within the previous twelve-months and the time period to appeal
has expired. The violator may request a hearing in accordance with subsection 4 of the Violations section.

Maximum Number of Smoke Accessory Sales Permits.

a. Atany given time, there shall be no more than three (3) Smoke Accessory Sales Permits issued in
Framingham. No permit renewal will be denied based on the requirements of this subsection except
any permit holder who has failed to renew his or her permit within thirty (30) days of expiration will be
treated as a first-time permit applicant. New applicants for permits who are applying at a time when the
maximum number of permits have been issued will be placed on a waiting list and will be eligible to
apply for a permit on a “first-come, first-served” basis as issued permits are either not renewed, revoked,
or are returned to the Board of Health.

b. A Smoke Accessory Sales Permit shall not be issued to any new applicant for a retail location within five
hundred (500) feet of a public or private elementary or secondary school as measured by a straight line
from the nearest point of the property line of the school to the nearest point of the property line of the
site of the applicant’s business premises.

c. A Smoke Accessory Sales Permit shall not be issued to any new applicant for a retail location within five
hundred (500) feet of a retailer with a valid Smoke Accessory Sales Permit or a valid Tobacco Product
Sales Permit as measured by a straight line from the nearest point of the property line of the retailer with
a valid Smoke Accessory Sales Permit or a valid Tobacco Product Sales Permit to the nearest point of

the property line of the site of the applicant's business premises.

d. Applicants who purchase or acquire an existing business that holds a valid Smoke Accessory Sales
Permit at the time of the sale or acquisition of said business must apply within sixty (60) days of such
sale or acquisition for the permit held by the current permit holder if the applicant intends to sell Smoke
Accessories, as defined herein.

J. Prohibited Sales:

2.

Flavored Tobacco Products. No person shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or distributed any

Flavored Tobacco Product, as defined herein, except in Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Stores.
Blunt Wraps. No person or entity shall sell or distribute Blunt Wraps, as defined herein, in Framingham.

Free Distribution and Coupon Redemption. No person shall:
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a. Distribute or cause to be distributed, any free sample of Tobacco Product or Smoke Accessory, as
defined herein;

b. Accept or redeem, offer to accept or redeem, or cause or hire any person to accept or redeem or offer
to accept or redeem any coupon that provides any Tobacco Product or Smoke Accessory, as defined
herein, without charge or for less than the listed or non-discounted price; or

c. Sell a Tobacco Product or Smoke Accessory, as defined herein, to consumers through any multi-pack
discounts (e.g., "buy-two-get-one-free") or otherwise provide or distribute to consumers any Tobacco
Product or Smoke Accessory, as defined herein, without charge or for less than the listed or non-
discounted price in exchange for the purchase of any other Tobacco Product or Smoke Accessory.

d. Sections 3.a. and 3.b. shall not apply to products, such as cigarettes, for which there is a state law
prohibiting them from being sold as loss leaders and for which a minimum retail price is required by

state law.

4. Qut-of-Package Sales. No person shall sell out-of-package Tobacco Products.

a. 'The sale or distribution of Tobacco Products, as defined herein, in any form other than an original
factory-wrapped package is prohibited, including the repackaging or dispensing of any Tobacco Product,
as defined herein, for retail sale. No person may sell or cause to be sold or distribute or cause to be
distributed any cigarette package that contains fewer than twenty (20) cigarettes, including single
cigarettes.

b. A retailer of Liquid Nicotine Containers must comply with the provisions of 310 CMR 30.000 and must
provide the Framingham Board of Health with a written plan for disposal of said product, including
disposal plans for any breakage, spillage or expiration of the product.

c. All retailers must comply with 940 CMR 21.05 which reads: “It shall be an unfair or deceptive act or
practice for any person to sell or distribute nicotine in a liquid or gel substance in Massachusetts after
March 15, 2016 unless the liquid or gel product is contained in a child-resistant package that, at a
minimum, meets the standard for special packaging as set forth in 15 U.S. C.{{1471 through 1476 and
16 CFR §1700 et. Seq.”

5. Self-Service Displays. All self-service displays of Tobacco Products, as defined herein, are prohibited. All
humidors including, but not limited to, walk-in humidors must be locked.

6. Vending Machines. All vending machines containing Tobacco Products, as defined herein, are prohibited.

7. Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own Machines. All Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own machines are prohibited.
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K. Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco Products by Health Care Institutions:

No health care institution located in Framingham shall sell or cause to be sold Tobacco Products, as defined herein.
No retail establishment that operates or has a health care institution within it, such as a pharmacy,
optician/optometrist or drug store, shall sell or cause to be sold Tobacco Products, as defined herein.

L. Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco Products by Educational Institutions:

No educational institution located in Framingham shall sell or cause to be sold Tobacco Products, as defined herein.
This includes all educational institutions as well as any retail establishments that operate on the property of an
educational institution.

M. Violations:

1. It shall be the responsibility of the establishment, permit holder and/or his or her business agent to ensure
compliance with all sections of this regulation.

a. TFor a violation of Section F (1) “Tobacco Sales to Persons Under the Minimum Legal Sales Age
Prohibited”, the violator shall receive:

1. In the case of a first violation, a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00) and the Tobacco
Product Sales Permit or the Smoke Accessory Sales Permit shall be suspended for three (3)
consecutive business days. For violations that involve Tobacco Products or Smoke Accessories
that rely on vaporization or aerosolization, the dates for such permit suspension shall be
determined by the Board of Health.

ii.  In the case of a second violation within thirty-six (36) months of the date of the current
violation, a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales Permit or the
Smoke Accessory Sales Permit shall be suspended for fourteen (14) consecutive business days.
The dates for such permit suspension shall be determined by the Board of Health.

iii.  In the case of three or more violations within a thirty-six (36) month period, a fine of three
hundred dollars ($300.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales Permit or the Smoke Accessory Sales
Permit shall be suspended for sixty (60) consecutive business days. The dates for such permit
suspension shall be determined by the Board of Health.

iv.  In the case of four violations or repeated, egregious violations of this regulation within a thirty-
six (36) month period, the Board of Health shall hold a hearing in accordance with subsection 4
of this section and may permanently revoke a Tobacco Product Sales Permit or a Smoke
Accessory Sales Permit.

b. For a violation of any Section other than Section F (1) “Tobacco Sales to Persons Under the
Minimum Legal Sales Age Prohibited”, the violator shall receive:
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1. In the case of a first violation, a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00) and the Tobacco
Product Sales Permit or the Smoke Accessory Sales Permit may be suspended for three (3)
consecutive business days.

i.  In the case of a second violation within thirty-six (36) months of the date of the current
violation, a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales Permit or the
Smoke Accessory Sales Permit may be suspended for fourteen (14) consecutive business days.

iii.  In the case of three or more violations within a thirty-six (36) month period, a fine of three
hundred dollars ($300.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales Permit or the Smoke Accessory Sales
Permit may be suspended for sixty (60) consecutive business days.

iv.  In the case of four violations or repeated, egregious violations of this regulation within a thirty-
six (36) month period, the Board of Health shall hold a hearing in accordance with subsection 4
of this section and may permanently revoke a Tobacco Product Sales Permit or a Smoke
Accessory Sales Permit.

2. Failure to cooperate with inspections pursuant to this regulation shall result in the suspension of the
Tobacco Product Sales Permit or the Smoke Accessory Sales Permit for thirty (30) consecutive business

days.

3. In addition to the monetary fines set above, any permit holder who engages in the sale or distribution of
Tobacco Products or Smoke Accessories while his or her permit is suspended shall be subject to the
suspension of all Board of Health issued permits for thirty (30) consecutive business days. Multiple
Tobacco Product Sales Permit or the Smoke Accessory Sales Permit suspensions shall not be served
concurrently.

4. 'The Framingham Board of Health shall provide notice of the intent to suspend or revoke a Tobacco
Product Sales Permit or a Smoke Accessory Sales Permit, which notice shall contain the reasons therefor
and establish a time and date for a hearing which date shall be no earlier than seven (7) days after the date of
said notice. The permit holder or its business agent shall have an opportunity to be heard at such hearing
and shall be notified of the Board of Health's decision and the reasons therefor in writing. After a hearing,
the Framingham Board of Health may suspend or revoke the Tobacco Product Sales Permit or the Smoke
Accessory Sales Permit if the Board of Health finds that a violation of this regulation occurred. All Tobacco
Products or Smoke Accessories, as defined herein, shall be removed from the retail establishment upon
suspension or revocation of the Tobacco Product Sales Permit or the Smoke Accessory Sales Permit.

Failure to remove all Tobacco Products or Smoke Accessories, as defined herein, shall constitute a separate
violation of this regulation.
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N. Non-Criminal Disposition:

Whoever violates any provision of this regulation may be penalized by the non-criminal method of disposition as
provided in Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, Section 21D.

0. Separate Violations:

Each day any violation exists shall be deemed to be a separate offense.
P. Enforcement:
Enforcement of this regulation shall be by the Framingham Board of Health or its designated agent(s).

Any resident who desires to register a complaint pursuant to the regulation may do so by contacting the
Framingham Board of Health or its designated agent(s) and the Board shall investigate.

Q. Severability:

If any provision of this regulation is declared invalid or unenforceable, the other provisions shall not be affected
thereby but shall continue in full force and effect.

R. Effective Date:

This regulation shall take effect on January 1, 2020, except Section J1. Section J1 shall take effect on June 1, 2020.

Approved on April 25,2019
Revised on December 19, 2019
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