Bulky Item Disposal

Bulky item collections can no longer be scheduled at City Hall, Room 213, as the office has been relocated.

Bulky item disposals must be scheduled either online or in-person at the following locations:

  • DPW Operations Center, 100 Western Avenue, Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • The Recycling Drop-Off Center, 255 Mt. Wayte Avenue, Thursday-Saturday, 8 a.m. - 3 p.m., and Sunday, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m.

To schedule and pay for a bulky item pickup online

Definition of Bulky Items

Bulky items are defined as materials that require a fee for collection due to their size and/or weight or which cannot be disposed of as municipal solid waste during the regular collection route because of Massachusetts waste disposal restrictions outlined in  310 CMR 19.017.1.

What counts as bulky waste?


Mattresses, box springs, metal desks, metal tables, dishwashers, dryers, riding lawnmowers (please make sure oil and gas is removed), ladders, dryers, snow blowers, stoves, swing sets, washers, water heaters, wood stoves, clotheslines, exercise bikes, walk-behind lawnmowers (please make sure oil and gas is removed), lawn spreaders, bikes, microwaves, metal lawn chairs, grills, wheelbarrows, storm doors, hard drive enclosures, sleep sofas, metal bed frames, and basketball hoops.



Chairs, ottomans, tables, wooden desks, couches, loveseats, bureaus, wooden bed frames,
 hutches, drawers, and china cabinets.

Items Containing Freon

Refrigerators, freezers, ice makers, air conditioners, and dehumidifiers.

According to Massachusetts General Law, refrigerators or freezer doors MUST be removed prior to placing the item outside for pick up. 



Disposal Options

Items must be paid for in advance; cash or check accepted. Online payment is also available. Residents have two options for proper disposal of bulky items: drop-off or curbside collection.

Drop Off

Residents may bring these items to the Recycling Drop-Off Center, located at 255 Mount Wayte Avenue, during normal hours of operation (Thursday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Sunday from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.) A permit to use the facility is required.

Curbside Collection

Residents of 1 to 4-family dwellings and approved condominiums may schedule a special bulky item curbside collection. Special curbside collections may be scheduled at the Recycling Drop-Off Center during the normal hours of operation or at the DPW Operations Center, Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.


for all items picked up curbside, A $5 service fee applies in addition to the disposal fee(s)! 

Bulky item disposal fees are as follows:

Bulky Items
Drop-Off Curbside Curbside Collection Day
Metal Items No fee
$12 Wednesday
Soft Goods (non-metal items greater than 40 pounds) $12
$12 Tuesday
Sleep Sofa $25 $25 Wednesday
Mattresses $20 $20 Wednesday
Freon Items
According to Massachusetts General Law, refrigerators or freezer doors MUST be removed prior to placing the item outside for pick up.  



Carpeting (total greater than 4 feet by 6 feet) $25 $25 Wednesday
TVs, Monitors, CRTs $15 $15 Wednesday
Tires – any size (with or without rims) $2 $2 Wednesday
Propane Tanks $5
No curbside collection No curbside collection

Collection Day

When are curbside items collected? Soft goods are scheduled for Tuesday, all metal items are scheduled for Wednesday.

Items must be set at the curb by 7 a.m. on the scheduled collection day; employees are not authorized to enter private property. Please make sure to affix the tag/sticker on each item.